An Irish Lesbian's thoughts and observations…


My style is to have short blended hair
This blurs the lines of gender but I don’t care
My jeans are deep blue with creases of wear
They’re loose but tight in places. People still stare.

My body is skinny with a smaller chest
They just look there and forget the rest
My jaw line is defined with a cheeky smile
My fingernails are too short to even file

My t shirt is sometimes fitted but never tight
They look and guess. They’re rarely right
I do a good deed for a random in the street
“Good man” they say and I feel my face heat

I wear men’s shirts cos you don’t need to see
The sexual side of my female body
I get swallowed up by the layered comfort
When they shouted “ugly lezzer” that kinda hurt

My tattoos are too masculine according to who?
A stranger – how does it even affect you?
My gender confuses you in the public toilet
Your reaction is almost enough to start a small riot

A word to the wise: I’m doing no harm
It’s not my fault if you’re attracted to my charm
Or if you never saw someone so weird
I’m certainly not a person that needs to be feared

Am I a young guy or a raging lesbo dyke?
My hair stands up with gel in every spike
I’m standing tall for myself and everyone just like me
Please don’t let them make you cry. Just be yourself, let yourself be free.

Comments on: "A Butch Lesbian Appreciation Poem" (9)

  1. I love the poem 🙂

    Butch is many things to many Butches a look, a political statement, a sensibility and a role. x

    One understanding is Womyn have been socially conditioned to sexualise their bodies and men have also been socially conditioned to be attracted to all the ‘beautiful’ things womyn do and view us in that particular lesser role.

    It all supports the maintenance of patriarchy.

    Like

    • To me being butch feels like a shield against unwanted attention. It is almost a barrier between my body and the world. I’d even go as far as saying it feels like protection. It actually took me a while to realise that these were the reasons behind my style.

      I don’t feel like being feminine is a bad thing, of course, it’s just not for me. I feel more comfortable, happier and feel more like myself in my butch clothes but I’m not overly butch either! 🙂

      Like

  2. I guess if I had to have a label…it would be femme. I am really against labels. I don’t think I would ever be attracted to other femmes. I like the butch look. Sooo sexy to me.

    Like

    • I’m usually against labels too but I have to admit that I’m definitely butch. I’ve faced some issues because of it recently – hence this poem. My wife and I are both butch. Apparently it’s quite rare for two butches to be together, especially longterm. 🙂 You’re right though; the butch look is definitely very sexy!

      Like

  3. I’ve always been very femme and never understood the urge to be butch until recently. But now I see that there are lots of implications – politically, not wanting to be an object for the male world – and also sexually I can see that it’s exciting to explore the area of being masculine but feminine too.

    Most of all it’s no one else’s business but your own! Great poem.

    Like

    • Yes, it does feel like a statement when you own your body as yours and only yours (and your partners) to see. I often wonder why it is socially expected for women to wear revealing clothing. It doesn’t make sense to me that women should constantly have to parade themselves in society. I absolutely love the femininity of my wife’s body which is something other people don’t get to see.

      You’re right, it is only my business! 🙂 I’m happy this way and that’s what really matters.

      Thank you for reading this and commenting.

      Like

      • It’s like short hair – in the 80s I went around wondering why on earth Annie Lennox’s hair was so short. It looked ugly to me. Then as a adult I read about how she had cut it off as a statement – “see me for my music, I am not going to be a person who exploits my body in return for approval”. It made total sense to me then and I found it an exciting stance – because by then I had seen the restrictions that society’s expectation put on women.

        Like

      • The expectations are the worst part of our society. It sometimes feels like anything I wear isn’t going to be “cool” or “good looking” to my straight friends because it’s something they wouldn’t dream of wearing and therefore it’s not compliment worthy.

        I do hate the fact that I need to have my body on display to gain general public approval but I don’t need public approval so I never dress the way the majority would like me to 🙂

        Annie Lennox is a fantastic example of a woman taking back her power and setting an example for females.

        Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

