An Irish Lesbian's thoughts and observations…


John Legend – You & I (Nobody In The World)

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Pi3bc9lS3rg

This video actually brought tears to my eyes (yes, I’m a big softy!) because it brings together a collection of so many women of different shapes, sizes and colour and encourages them to love themselves. We are all beautiful in so many different ways. I hate hearing anyone put themselves down, especially because of their looks. I allowed my looks to hold me back from being more adventurous and I ended up regretting doing that. Scars, weight and stretch marks are all part of simply being human. I do my best to dress well and look good but I don’t allow it to consume my thoughts. I lost a lot of weight and as a result my upper arms have stretch marks and a small amount of loose skin. My arms don’t look really bad but let’s face it: you are your own worst critic. Last summer I allowed myself to get upset about my flaws and I let it stop me from wearing certain things. This year I vowed to put it to the back of my mind and do whatever I like while wearing whatever I like so that’s exactly what I did. I feel so much better now. Overlooking your imperfections can be an overwhelming task but you can do it and you can embrace the way you look too.

I challenge you to think of at least three things that you like about your looks.

Remember, our imperfections make us human and your imperfections are so perfect.

Comments on: "Our Imperfections Make Us Perfect" (5)

  1. Three things: I have great hair. Oh yeah. And killer eyes. *wink* Plus I’m as cute as a bug. And never let anyone, not society, not your partner, not even your mirror tell you what to wear. Life is too short for that kind of crap. Yes, this means if I’m comfortable in my flame pajama pants and I need something from the store, yes, I go just like that. What? Those people don’t pay my bills. Don’t look if you don’t like what I’m wearing. Bottom line, no one’s business but your own. Definitely no one’s business what I wear.

    Like

    • Aww awesome, I love my eyes too! Oh I never allow anything or anyone change the way I dress. Life’s too short to care about what anyone thinks especially random strangers. I allow my colours to clash and my outfits never seem quite ‘normal’, but really, who cares? At the end of the day my happiness is important so everyone else can just deal with how we look, right? 🙂

      I hope you’re keeping well and had a fantastic time with your family.

      Like

  2. I’ll skip the obvious comment about the media presenting an unattainable ideal of beauty. The problem we, as a society have, is shame. Shame is something we’re supposed to feel when we do something wrong. You make fun of someone different – shame. Shame, as a feeling, should never be something we feel when things are out of our control. Unfortunately, physical beauty (or lack thereof) leads to shame which leads to bad decisions which inevitably leads one again to shame.

    I don’t hope or dream for a world where physical beauty isn’t paraded and sought. That’s unrealistic. I hope for a world where shame is kept in it’s place.

    Like

    • Shame actually makes so much sense and totally captures this obvious problem. I definitely felt ashamed of myself so I’ve been there and I’ve had to work through those feelings and it wasn’t easy. People saying that “he/she should be ashamed of themselves for looking that way or eating so much” is so damaging and really held me back to be honest.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

