An Irish Lesbian's thoughts and observations…

This Video Made Me Cry…


I’ve been studying various medical conditions and disabilities recently. What I’ve learned so far is that these ‘disabilities’ in no way stop people from living full lives. I genuinely think there’s so much we can actually learn from people who have these long term illnesses and disabilities.

I had a habit of throwing in the towel myself in the past. I often gave up when things got hard. The amazing thing is these remarkable people do not let that even be an option for them. We can help them in ways but they can help us in so many more ways than we actually realise. Opening your eyes to the bravery that is their normality will actually inspire you so much.

Comments on: "This Video Made Me Cry…" (4)

  1. I’m the opposite. I’ve been fighting a losing custody and child support battle for the better part of seven years and making alternative custody arrangements so l am no longer dragging my son through the mud while I struggle to make ends meet. His father has proven unreliable so I making arrangements with others to take care of him so I can back into my feet to finally be able to obtain a more flexible work schedule, go back to school without issue to finally earn my compsci degree, and enter a field that is not known to be family-friendly anyways. It’s going to take another 5-7 years to obtain the proper training for my field of choice. I’ve given work to focus on parenting and school to no avail, and given up school to focus on working and to try and be a parent. I can’t have it all with everything imploding. He is happy with the relatives I am setting him up with. My best friend, whom I haven’t talked to in 4 months but is the godfather, is devastated; he thinks I’m giving up and going to regret it, but I’ve told I regretted not giving up custody sooner. Still waiting for a response.

    Like

  2. I’m currently battling with Human Resources at work to acknowledge that my hearing disability does not allow me to attend large meetings. Hold thumbs a solution can be found.

    Like

  3. Most often kids and people with conditions see their quality of life as better than someone without a condition who becomes Ill. So I think it’s pretty cool that their normal is just their normal, it’s what they know 🙂

    Like

    • Yes, it’s really great. I think that their attitudes are so precious and the idea of them needing to be changed is ridiculous. I think the world needs to learn how to adapt to them more instead. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

