An Irish Lesbian's thoughts and observations…

Let’s Get Educated!


Do you ever feel like every move you make is shadowed by judgement? I didn’t feel like that too often until now. Now I feel like something I think is an achievement is not quite good enough. It’s not a good enough qualification or not the right career choice is exactly what has been echoed since I announced my latest decision. The fact that this is exactly what I want almost feels irrelevant at times. For too long I was unsure about what to do with my life but now that I do know I feel proud of myself for taking control and taking steps towards achieving my goals.

I have a long-term plan now for the first time ever so why does it feel like it’s been tainted by the expectations and opinions of others? I know I’m on the right track and I have my hopes and dreams held in my sights. I just hope everything I’m doing is enough to fulfill my ambitions. Admittedly it is difficult to be as excited as I’d like to be about something when it feels like it’s still not good enough. Despite all of that, I am going to gain my qualifications with my head held high.

Comments on: "Let’s Get Educated!" (8)

  1. I suspect that if those people criticizing your decisions were actually in “your shoes,” they would likely make the same decisions you have made.

    The other thing to look at is this: People only see the end results of the good things they’ve accomplished. They self-edit out all the trials, tribulations and questionable decisions. They look at your trials, tribulations and questionable decisions and wonder why you just can’t make it happen. After all, every decision they made led inexerably to their positive outcome or life.

    In psychology, this is known as a cognitive bias (specifically a choice-supportive bias) and is a failure in logic and reasoning.

    Like

    • That’s a fantastic insight into the mind’s of my critics. It helps to try to think of things that way from their point if view.
      Thanks Mark, great words of wisdom from you as usual 🙂

      Like

  2. You chose a lion as your avatar – attack those dreams like prey. Rooting for you all the way.
    Take care
    Kris

    Like

  3. People were bashing when I could secure a job for over a year. Now that have one they’re like, why not two to finally support yourself? Or one that give you more hours or better pay? Or wonder why you won’t take multiple dead-end, high-turnover jobs? Ugh.

    Even worse, I plan to return to school but I’m expected to attend online school to “better work” with my work schedule(s); good for humanities or soft sciences, maybe, but not a good choice for STEM fields. You need the computer labs, you lose the ability to network and team work in person when going on line, and it’s usually watered down in quality compared for traditional learning.

    Like

  4. Ignore them.

    Your plans and dreams are the right ones for you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

